利兹鱼 – 史上最大的鱼!

利兹鱼是一种巨大的鱼,很可能是有史以来海洋中最大的鱼! 利兹鱼的化石在1889 年由化石收集家阿尔弗雷德 · 利兹 (Alfred Leeds) 于英国发现,其正式科学名称Leedsichthys Problematicus是由拉丁文和希腊文所组成。

 Leedsichthys 的意思是「利兹的鱼」– Ichthys是希腊文「鱼」的意思。

Problematicus 是拉丁文「造成困难」的意思有「带来问题」之意。

因此,Leedsichthys Problematicus 的意思是「利兹那带来问题的鱼」。科学家对於居然有一种鱼能够如此巨大感到匪夷所思!我认为利兹鱼带给阿尔弗雷德 ·利兹另一个难题,就是:

我要把这些巨大的骨头放到哪里去保存呢???

利兹鱼有多大?

由於从来没有人发现过完整的利兹鱼骨架,因此利兹鱼到底可以生长到多大依然有定论。根据现今的一些估计,利兹鱼的身长可达5075 英尺(16 22 米),比鲸鲨Megalodon 更庞大,是有史以来最大的鱼! 不过,并不是每个人都认同这推测。一些科学家认为利兹鱼「仅仅」能够生长至9 米(27 英尺)长。纵然如此,这个身长已超过两台车加起来的长度,也比史蒂文· 斯皮尔伯格执导的着名电影《大白鲨》里的大白鲨长一半。

利兹鱼不是鲨鱼,而是硬骨鱼。它与大部分鱼类一样,属硬骨鱼类,而鲨鱼则属软骨鱼类。虽然利兹鱼是最大的不是最大的脊椎动物 最大的脊椎动物是蓝鲸

利兹鱼吃什么?

利兹鱼拥有 40000 颗牙齿。 当利兹鱼的牙医肯定不是一件轻松的事!不过,尽管拥有数量惊人的牙齿和庞大的身躯,利兹鱼本身并不凶残。和鲸鲨和蓝鲸一样,利兹鱼很可能是靠觅食浮游生物维生。它会游到海面附近,张嘴大口喝水,并用其喉咙后面的两块骨板把浮游生物过滤出来。如Leedsichthys Problematicus being attacked果今天利兹鱼仍然存在,潜水员有机会和它们一起海中畅泳的话,绝对会是非常难忘的经验。

利兹鱼的模样

由於我们只能从化石认识利兹鱼,所以不能确定这种鱼的实际模样。以上的图片是一位艺术家对利兹鱼的想像。图中描绘了一条受惊的利兹鱼正被另一个已经灭绝的爬行动物滑齿龙袭击。这图画 更大的版本在这里

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leedsichthys Problematicus – The Biggest Fish There Ever Was!

The Leedshichthys was a huge fish, probably the biggest fish ever to swim the seas! Its fossilized bones were discovered in England in 1889 by a fossil collector, Alfred Leeds. The full scientific name, Leedsichthys Problematicus, is a mixture of Latin and Greek.

  • Leedsichthys means Leeds’ Fish – the Greek word for fish is Ichthys.
  • Problematicus is Latin for Problematic, which means Posing a Problem.

So, Leedsichthys Problematicus is Alfred Leeds’ Problem-Causing Fish. It was baffling to scientists to imagine how a fish could be so big! I suppose Leedsichthys posed another problem to Alfred Leeds, namely:

  • Where on earth am I going to keep all these huge bones???

How Big Was Leedsichthys?

Because nobody has ever found a complete Leedsichthys skeleton, it’s not clear how big, exactly, Leedsichthys Problematicus grew. Modern estimates put it at 50 to 75 feet long (16 to 22 metres), making it the biggest fish ever – bigger than the Whale Shark or the Megalodon ! Not everyone agrees, however. Some scientists argue that Leedsichthys “only” grew to a length of nine metres (27 feet). That’s still longer than two cars, and 50% longer than the Great White sharks, made famous by Steven Spielberg’s Jaws movies.

Leedsichthys was not a shark, but a kind of bony fish. It had bones, like most other fish. Sharks have cartilage instead. Although it was the the largest fish , it was not the largest vertebrate – that honor goes to the Blue Whale.

What Did Leedsichthys Eat?

Leedsichthys had 40000 teeth. It would not have been fun to be a Leedsichthys dentist! ButLeedsichthys Problematicus being attacked despite this, and its enormous size, Leedsichthys would have been harmless. Like the Whale Shark and the Blue Whale, Leedsichthys most likely lived on plankton. It would swim near the surface of the sea, drinking huge gulps of water, and filter out the plankton with two bony plates at the back of its throat. If it were alive today, it would be the highlight of a Scuba diver’s career to swim with one!

Leedsichthys Pictures

Because Leeds’ Problematic Fish is only known from fossils, people can’t be sure exactly what it looked like. The picture here (due to Bogdanov) shows one artist’s idea. It shows a frightened Leedsichthys being attacked by another extinct creature, a reptile called a Liopleurodon. You can find a larger version here .

One thought on “Leedsichthys Problematicus – The Biggest Fish There Ever Was!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *